Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

We all need saving from ourselves.

Saturday, Aug. 23, 2008
11:34 p.m.
Watching the moon rise tonight, the proverbial ghostly galleon, from the back balcony of Little Princess’ BF’s apartment with Ed in an attempt to escape from the cigarette smoke on the front stoop and the loud music inside, I mentioned that with the departure of my kids from these here parts, I was also losing my younger social set and would have to start making friends with people my own age. In fact, he is the only one of her circle who is remaining behind whom I regularly socialize with. Is it weird that I remain friends with my daughter’s friend when my daughter is gone?

The party was in honour of the BF’s birthday, which is on Monday, and which I totally forgot about now that I think of it, and also that he and his roommate Ollie are leaving town. Hubby always seems a little awkward at these gatherings, feeling that he really is a lot older than these young people, many of whom are his students. I only feel awkward when I am with him. Otherwise I don&squo;t notice the age difference at all. Strange, that. I don’t I’m ready to grow up yet.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>