Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Twenty-six down, ? to go.

Saturday, Aug. 23, 2008
12:33 p.m.
Diaryland was not working last night, not when I wanted to update after Hubby and I got home from our anniversary celebrations, and not at 2:30 a.m. when I was awake and trying to get sleepy. So yesterday’s escapades have had to wait until now to get recorded.

There are now 13 tubs of pesto in the freezer and still plenty of basil left in the garden in the event I want to make more, which I won’t, considering there’s still all of last year’s pesto to consume first. This is either a sign that four packages of seeds are too much or that we don’t eat enough of the stuff, or both.

I spoke to my mom twice yesterday, once just before lunch when I called her, and once in the afternoon when she called me, having totally forgotten that we had already been conversing that day. She sounds like she’s in good spirits, even though she complains that she doesn’t make friends easily and hasn’t really gotten to know anyone new at the home. Part of this is her lousy vision and poor memory, so she doesn’t recognize people and doesn’t remember them either.

Before going out for dinner, Hubby and I unwrapped the anniversary gift his folks had given us months ago, that’s been sitting waiting in the dining room for this moment. It was a seven-piece crystal salad set: large bowl, four small bowls and serving pieces, called Dublin® but made in China. It was one of those WTF moments when we looked at the label. Still, they’re lovely, even though I have no idea when we’ll actually use such a thing. Not for salad, in any case. We shall see.

We ended up dining at a bistro in town outside on the terasse where there was a musician playing an amplified acoustic guitar and singing. It was extremely loud. His voice reminded me of Burt0n Cummings from the Guess Wh0, but he tried too hard, and he never took a break, which we so ardently desired. I felt towards dessert that my ears were bleeding.

The meal, however, was absolutely delicious. I had the table d’hôte which was a delicious salad followed by salmon stuffed with pesto-flavoured goat cheese and a tomato sauce, served with risotto and vegetables. Dessert was a chocolate mousse cake which I asked for with two forks. The waitress brought us an extra-large piece which we couldn’t finish, so there’s some in the fridge for later.

This was followed by a stroll around downtown and then a movie, The R0cker, which was hilarious. One of my favourite bits of dialogue was when the teenage singer/song writer of the band comes into the cafeteria of some corporate place to fetch the drummer and says, “I didn’t realize real life was so boring,” and the drummer replies, “Also soul crushing. Don’t forget soul crushing.”

I was up in the middle of the night with a hot flash and then couldn’t get back to sleep. When I tried, Hubby’s soft snoring kept me from dozing off, so I ended up sleeping in the guest room. The bed is incredibly comfortable in there. I ended up sleeping very well.

We just brunched with our Serbian violist friend who is in town with the Montreal orchestra for a gig. It’s amazing how much happens in people’s lives when you haven’t seen them for a long time. Well, some people.


|

<~~~ * ~~~>