Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Have you hoid about da boinin'?

Wednesday, Aug. 23, 2006
1:47 p.m.
Thanks to everyone who left me Happy Anniversary wishes. I feel quite loved, which I didn't yesterday, at least for a little bit. Hubby and I did go to our favourite Vietnamese restaurant where we partook of vegetarian dinner for two (4f) which included soupe tonkinoise, spring rolls, some kind of sweet potato fritter, dipping sauce and a wee salad (that was just the appetizer), then steamed rice, basil flavoured fried tofu and vegetables with cashew nuts. The finishing flourish was a piece of fruit (banana for Hubby, pineapple for me) deep fried in batter and bathed liberally in a sweet syrup with jasmine tea. Amazingly, I did not feel like I had overeaten, even though it's more than I normally have, just because it was all so good for me!

After supper, we took a short walk along the esplanade, an "improved" walkway/sidewalk alongside the artificial lake (the Mag0g River is damned to provide hydro-electric power, and the resulting pond is called Lac des Nati0ns although I have no idea why) where we joined cyclists, rollerskaters and other strollers taking advantage of one of the last pleasant summer evenings. We had to find a gas station because the front, driver's side tire of our car looked a little flat (just a little), but it seems to be fine today. I hate the thought that I will have to take it in before the next oil and filter change, so I'm hoping it lasts that long.

We did not have the orgiastic sex I tantalized you with yesterday, mainly because my no-longer-monthly intervened, a bodily occurrence which is becoming increasingly strange the closer I get to attaining crone status. Instead I went to bed early and read.

Today, however, I have been listening to the blues songs Hubby burned onto a CD for me, trying to figure out keys that will suit my voice. I'm not Muddy Waters, let's face it. I'm not even Bessie Smith, although I can relate to her keys a little better than to Howling Wolf's, for example. The latter had the most amazing voice. It sounds a little like he's been recorded through the telephone, there's almost a metallic quality to it. My personal favourite, though, is Lonnie Johnson. Such a gorgeous, melifluous sound.

I have also decided on my piece for the faculty recital, a Mozart concert aria that takes up almost the entire 10 minutes allotted to me. I sound like a rusty old crow right now, but I know that with daily practice, strenuous practice, It will come back. It always does. So that means that in the space of a few weeks, I'll be performing three different concerts: the faculty recital, an hour at a campus/community cultural event ( jazz standards, joined by the Dean of Humanities on alto sax) and the blues concert. Hubby seems to think I can have everything memorized. What a kidder! On top of those things, he is performing a classical recital in November for guitar and harpsichord. I think the boy has bitten off more than he can chew, and I think he has just realized it himself.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>