Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Shopping! Whee!

Thursday, Aug. 24, 2006
4:18 p.m.
It has been a very successful day, thus far, in the purchasing department, anyway. The only thing I forgot to get, and I think it is because I was already running out of steam by this point, was rubber gloves, even though they were clearly written on the shopping list I was clutching in my little hands. Nonetheless, I did buy:

a wooden toilet seat/lid with hardware for our oval toilet upstairs, the plastic lid of which is hopelessly broken past repair;
a wall bracket on which to display our new ceramic "flattie" (what Newfoundlanders call flounders) that arrived in the mail on Tuesday, just in time for me to present it to Hubby;
two covered, microwaveable containers for the kids to take leftovers to school in;
groceries

Finding the wall bracket presented the biggest problem. First I tried a home decorating store. The clerk there suggested a quincaillerie, so I went to H0me Hardware where I found the toilet seat/lid. The clerk I spoke with there suggested I try an art supply store, so that was my next stop. The next clerk recommended I go next door to Pier I Imp0rts, and that is where I found what I needed. It wasn't exactly as I imagined it, but it'll do the trick.

I also stopped at the international food store on my way home and found they had spanikopitas and tyropitas in the freezer, so I got some of those too. Um num.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>