Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Catching up.

Saturday, Nov. 22, 2008
10:22 p.m.
Hubby is in New York and I am being incredibly slothful. It is almost bedtime and I’t still in my pyjamas and bathrobe, which I guess means I don’t have to get undressed for bed, now, do I?

He left early yesterday morning to drive to Burlington VT to catch his flight, and then I sat with our once-a-week guest, Grandpa Mike, while he drank his coffee before he went off to the university. I had great intentions of going back to bed, but it never happened. I also planned to go to the studio recital at noon, and ended up having a luxurious bubble bath instead (except that it got cold on me a little too quickly). Apparently I missed Kevin O collapsing. Damn!

There was a piano trio concert at the school last night, and it was mighty fine. The musicians are all people I know, and they were very happy to be there. Today I slept in, did laundry, kept the wood stove going, and played on the computer all day.

The correspondence that began a few days ago as Facebook messages has moved into a full-blown email conversation. It’s really rather amazing. I had not thought of this guy for years, literally, and yet suddenly we’re exchanging information as though there hadn’t been any hiatus at all. The fact that we were a “couple” for two years doesn’t really seem to matter here. We were really good friends before that, and that is what we still seem to be. It’s rather nice.




|

<~~~ * ~~~>