Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

A half-century minus one day

Monday, Jan. 22, 2007
8:45 p.m.
Yep, tomorrow is my 50th birthday. I can’t actually believe it. Fifty always seemed like such an unattainable number, a half-century, the age when people were really old. I’m actually feeling old right now, having finally succumbed to the cold that’s been going around, which means I won’t be able to donate blood tomorrow as I had planned. That, I think, upsets me more than the actual birthday itself.

Even with the beginning of a sore throat, I taught two lessons today that both went very well. I even went to belly dancing tonight, and that was fine. Maybe I won’t get really sick. One can always hope.

In other news, I found an online source of free Black B00k shows, the whole series, as well as other broadcasts, like the entire Red Dwarf. I will link it in my side bar eventually so that everyone can enjoy it.

I also found out today that one of our English professors, the one who taught Chaucer and medieval English and has been off on sick leave for a while now, first for emotional exhaustion and then battling breast cancer, died last night. The emotional exhaustion was a result of all the crap she had to put up with at the university (academia is not for the weak) and her husband’s descent into dementia. He is still alive, in an institution, probably unaware that he is now a widower, having probably forgotten that he was ever married. She used to have dinner parties and invite Hubby and me. I’m not really sure why as we never socialized with her regularly and we didn’t even know her very well, but she liked us for some reason and included us in her gatherings. The news of her death saddened me. That kind of thing always does.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>