Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Pie....

Sunday, Jan. 21, 2007
7:45 p.m.
Little Princess’ band won the contest last night. Their prize is four and-a-half hours of recording time in the music department’s recital hall with a technician (using the equipment there of course), which is pretty sweet. Apparently the decision of the judges was unanimous.

When I was online last night, after updating my diary, one of Little Princess’ friends reminded me that the rink was open this afternoon, so I unearthed my gray woolen socks and took me down there for 12:30. It was a real chore actually deciding to go, considering how cold it was outside (-10°C) and how toasty warm it was inside with the fire going, but I went anyway, and in the end I’m glad I did.

The place was hopping, full of families with little kids, some of which I actually knew, as well as three of my buddies, all students in our department, one of them being the keyboardist in the band, another the technician who will be recording them, and the third the guy on my messenger list who reminded me in the first place. The latter is from Romania, although he grew up in Montreal and doesn’t remember the country of his birth at all. But he’s still fluent in Romanian, being the language in which he still speaks to his mother.

I was talking to a couple there with their little girls, he’s a professor in the business school and she’s a stay-at-home mom with a masters in biology or something like that. They happen to be Romanian as well, and so I motioned my friend over and for the next 10 to 15 minutes they were having a lively conversation in their mother tongue.

After we’d been skating in ovals for more than two hours, the four of us adjourned to the music department where the technician fellow showed us the first episode of an Irish comedy series called Black B00ks about a man who owns a used book store and various other insane characters. I have seriously not laughed that much at a television show in a long time. These episodes are all on the internet, so I’m going to hunt them down and watch them.

I got out of cooking supper tonight: Buddy Boy convinced his dad that we should order in Chinese food, which we did. Then we had pie. Mmmm....



|

<~~~ * ~~~>