Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Fifty years down, fifty more to go

Wednesday, Jan. 24, 2007
12:42 a.m.
It’s past midnight and my official birthday is over now, but before I go to bed, I just wanted to jot down some of the highlights of the day, lest I forget them.

The sore throat, while still present, was no worse than it was yesterday, and even though I couldn’t give blood, it didn’t keep me from doing what I had to do, which included teaching and going to choir, basically.

At choir I got serenaded with Happy Birthday which was really lovely, as it had never happened before, and I got all warm and gushy and actually felt my face turning red. So many people wished me happy birthday, people who really shouldn’t have known that it was my birthday, that I suppose I should have been suspicious, but I am the ever-trusting soul, yes I am.

Right afterwards, I zoomed home and found that Hubby had put all the miscellaneous things, like guitars and amplifiers, in the reading room, and I knew that he was planning something, even though he wouldn’t admit to it. We went to Da Toni where we had a really nice dinner and he presented me with my present, a digital camera to call my own. In fact, he told me that it was all mine and I didn’t have to share it with anyone. Not like the cellphone.

We got home and of course the street was parked up with cars, and the house was full of people and they all sang Happy Birthday when I made my appearance. What was really nice was that there were people from my writing group, Patsy, Herr Doktor Professor and his wife, Kevin O, Vlad, and even the Duchess and the Duke! But best of all, Little Princess’ friends were there, the members of her band plus my other skating buddies. That was really, really nice.

Hubby had arranged catering from the international food store and a beautiful cake from Greens which, when André the baker found out was for me, he put extra special care into. There were two cases of beer drunk (12X2, that is) and a myriad bottles of wine (the same Argentinian Shiraz-Malbec as the other night), the students stayed till the very end, as did Kevin O, and I had a marvellous time. Plus, even though Hubby told them not to, several people brought me presents, including several bottles of really nice wine (even some ice wine) and other fun stuff like bath and body emollients and a lovely red shawl.

Maybe being 50 isn’t going to be so bad after all if I’m this loved.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>