Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Save, dammit, save!

Saturday, Apr. 1, 2006
5:46 p.m.
I think (with fingers crossed) that the worst is over. I am hoping by saying that out loud (and in print) that I have not jinxed myself.

The concert last night was exquisite. The quartet played two very early works for that ensemble by Mozart, whose anniversary year we are celebrating, and the pianist joined them for two piano concerti, arranged by the composer himself for that combination. They were delicate and sparkling like gems. The pianist made our Hamburg Steinway sound so good, it was like fairyland. We get to hear him again tonight in a solo all-Mozart recital (I don�t know if I can hold up to so much of the same, but we�ll see).

Happily I sat next to the Duchess, who is looking rather smashing these days. She�s still wearing her wig, as her new hair is not yet long enough to style, and since she�s lost weight she is wearing very beautiful clothes which she admits she would never have modeled before. It�s so nice to have her back. During intermission she manned a table selling daffodils for the cancer society. We have some on our kitchen table which I ordered from my neighbour.

The weather today was very warm. It actually went up to 20�C. I took Buddy Boy to the United church this morning where he had a table for a �garage� sale in order to raise money for his upcoming trip to Europe. He got the time wrong, and we sat and waited in the rain from 6:30 to 7:00 before his teacher showed up to open the hall. I went home and slept for another hour before going to the university to meet with one of Hubby�s composition students to walk her through Finale. I gave her the basics in about an hour and-a-half, knowing that she�s going to have questions and forget things, and then directed her to the help manual.

I had my own Finale disaster this afternoon. I got one page of viola concerto piano reduction copied when the power went out, not having saved. Very sad. Now I�m off to barbecue some mahi mahi.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>