Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Switcheroony

Sunday, Apr. 2, 2006
10:30 p.m.
Thankfully, I seem to have stopped pouring forth my lifeblood in copious amounts (or at all), but I am left rather weak from that whole experience. Yes, I am taking iron pills, I am drinking lots of fluids, but I still feel as though I�ve had a pint taken from me by the nice people at the Red Cross, only this wasn�t voluntary. A woman I know in the choir has recommended that I see her naturopath about herbal remedies that will prevent further such incidences. I shall think about it.

In the meantime, we had a marathon three and-a-half hour choir practice this afternoon (that doesn�t count the hour or so put in beforehand by some of the small groups) at which I sang my solo from La Wally to much applause, even though my voice was not at its best, especially around the register breaks. I�ve assured Herr Doktor Professor that I will be completely healed by the time of the show (next Friday night) and he has told me to ensure that this is so. The show stopper will be Cell Bl0ck Tang0 from the movie Chicag0. The girl who has been doing the choreography completely outdid herself on this one. It�s fantastic.

Tonight was the graduation recital of a soprano who studied with me for her first year, but switched to another teacher for �personal� (read �political�) reasons. It makes me rather upset, that whole thing, but in the end I don�t really mind because she�s not a very pleasant person and came equipped with an attitude. Her recital was fine, she sang the doll aria from Offenbach�s TaIes of H0ffman as her finale, and the audience went wild.

This time of year is so busy at a music department. I am hoping that there are no relapses of illness (either mine or anyone else�s) and that we all get through this. It�s like this every year. We just forget and the craziness strikes anew.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>