Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Fun hole? Did I say fun hole?

Friday, Mar. 31, 2006
4:38 p.m.
There are many things to record here, and the only thing I can think of is my poor aching female parts. I have been squirting so much menstrual material out my fun hole that I feel like I could be supplying a blood bank. This has prompted me to up my iron pill intake as I fear becoming anemic again. The cramps are excruciating, and I finally asked for and received a 222 from my daughter this morning. (For my non-Canadian readers, 222s are over-the-counter acetylsylisalic acid and codeine tablets, and I ended up at the pharmacy this afternoon and bought the generic ones, which are simply called A.C.C. [the other C is for caffeine, a catalyst] and one seems to do the trick where many other cures don�t.) Unfortunately, it also made me rather groggy later on, but this I suppose I can live with.

Lysistrata was very fine last night and very funny. The translation must have been doctored a bit, and was particularly crude, although the original Arist0phanes is already pretty outrageous. The student actors were pretty good, and at one point near the end of the play, when a peace treaty has been signed between Athens and Sparta, everyone started dancing, pulling people up from the audience to join them. Both Hubby and I were dragged onstage, and then ushered off so the play could continue.

Afterwards we went to the Java to hear Grandpa Mike�s trio, but we didn�t stay long (that is, Hubby drove me home and then went back himself for their next set) as I�m still recovering from my cold. However, I did stay online until after midnight chatting, which was maybe not a smart move, but still a fun one.

This morning the visiting string quartet (the violist is staying with us) read through student compositions and I went to hear them (this was when I got the medication from Little Princess). I was very impressed with the talent among our young composers. I was even more impressed with the sightreading ability of the musicians, and how they made these pieces sound pretty darn good in just a half-hour. That�s what being a professional is all about.

This afternoon I cooked up a feast and we had eight to dinner: three of us (Little Princess had a band practice), four quartet members and the pianist. The menu was barbecued trout (I did not burn it this time), oven-fried plantains, oven-fried sweet potatoes, sliced up tomato and avocado with my lemon dressing, and a country-style baguette freshened up in the oven. They consumed absolutely everything, along with a 2004 baco noir, and then left to go get ready for the concert tonight. I suppose I should do the same. Now if only I would stop bleeding already.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>