Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The Never-ending Story

Friday, Aug. 19, 2005
2:06 p.m.
You would think, after all this time and effort and frustration upon frustration, that I would be able to throw my hat in the air, cry �Yippee!� and say that I�m finished with this project. But, oh no, it is not to be.

This morning, first thing, I went to Hubby�s office where I printed out the score and parts (hand feeding legal-size pages into the printer because it is too stupid to do it itself). There is a Buddhist convention (they call it a retreat) on campus, which necessitated the construction of a huge floor on the quad and a correspondingly-large white tent. I watched through the window as a shaven-headed, safron-robed man conversed with a passerby. I also played freecell while I waited for the printer to do its thing. When it was all done, I noticed that Violin II to Doublebass were streaky, with progressively larger white patches occuring on succeeding pages. So I opened the printer, removed the toner cartridge (which I noted was dated September 2000), gave it a good shake, then replaced it, and found something with which to wipe the black dust off my fingers. I reprinted the necessary pages, which came out fine.

Now, you�d think I was done, right? Hubby took another gander at the new score and parts, and found more mistakes for me to fix. As I complained earlier, I must be very unobservant, or just lazy, or stupid, because I can�t seem to get all the errors fixed at the first go. Maybe I try to work too fast. I don�t know. Anyway, we�re not home free yet on this one.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>