Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

If wishes were horses�

Saturday, Aug. 20, 2005
6:13 p.m.
I finished up the corrections this morning but haven�t yet printed the new pages. It�s been raining all day, the perfect pathetic fallacy backdrop for my mood, which teeters between boredom, wanting but not wanting to start something new, frustration at having to use the dryer instead of hanging my laundry on the line, and total disgust that I must qualify as the world�s worst housekeeper, although others assure me that I have competition.

I finally vinegared away the deposits from around the sink in the main-floor bathroom. I have to do a proper cleaning of the house before Wednesday, as that�s when Hubby�s new guitar is being delivered, by the luthier himself no less, and I have reason to believe he�ll be staying over. On Thursday we drive to points east for Hubby�s cousin�s wedding. I�d like to come home to a comparatively clean house.

When I worked as a legal secretary during the holidays while I was at university, I made friends with the bookkeeper at my law firm. She moved on, but we stayed very good friends. She came to my wedding, and several years later I went to hers (I sang at it, in fact). She lives in New Brunswick, not too far out of our way, and I�ve emailed her so that we might visit either on our way there or home again. But I have not heard back from her. Sigh.

I wish it would stop raining. I wish I were not such a procrastinator. I wish lots of things. Some of them come true, most don�t.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>