Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I�m done!

Thursday, Aug. 18, 2005
4:16 p.m.
I got this email from the university today:

The Ministry of Transportation will be rebuilding the deck of the Massawippi Bridge this Fall. Although the work will start in the coming days, we have received assurances from the Ministry that there will be no lane closures until after the Labour Day weekend. After that date, you can expect that traffic will be reduced to one lane and at the end of September the bridge will be entirely closed to traffic for one month. Pedestrians will at all times be able to cross-over. �A press conference will be held next week by Ministry officials and specific schedule and detour details will be made public.

This is actually good news. It means we won�t be isolated from town to the extent I feared, and it also means that students and professors who walk to school won�t be forced to find some other means across the river. So, it�s not as bad as I thought it was going to be.

I have finished doing the corrections to the parts for the orchestral piece. What�s left is printing the corrected score and parts, having the printshop make a conductor�s enlarged, bound copy (11 x 17"), and getting it off in the mail. I will be so happy to see the back of it.

Hubby has received word from the agent of the guitarist for whom he wrote a solo piece that the performer is premiering it in Russia, taking it on tour to Vladivostok, some other almost-unpronounceable city, and Moscow towards the end of November. He is sorely tempted to go to Moscow to hear it performed there and wants me to go with him. As much as I would love to go, I�m also a little trepidatious of travelling so far to a country where English is definitely not spoken (unlike most of the other countries we�ve visited) and I probably couldn�t get by with French either. One of my buddies has encouraged me, which I find encouraging, but the cost of plane fare and accommodation might actually be the straw which determines if this camel travels or not.

It�s cooled off considerably. Hubby got up last night (a skunk outside made its olfactory presence known, and I slept right through it) and saw that the thermometer read 6�C. Today it�s even chilly, and my feet are cold in sandals. The tree-form hydrangea has the most beautiful white flowers on it, though, so the progression of the season is not a bad thing.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>