Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Yo, Mama, shake that thang!

Monday, Jan. 17, 2005
11:45 p.m.
In an amazing feat of engineering and sleight of hand, my teaching schedule has been concocted from the flotsam and detritus of student scribblings. I have a rather weird way of building this thing: I assign each of my students a dot of colour from different pens and markers. Then on a master timetable I colour in each of their available times, and then stare at the pattern of colourful dots until order emerges from the chaos and a schedule is created. Now they just need to be informed, and the moulding of young voices recommences.

A large package was in the mailbox with my name on it when I went to collect the mail today, and until I actually opened it, I didn�t remember that it was my new wok lid. Interestingly enough, they sent me the wrong lid, but I am not complaining: this one fits perfectly. I inaugurated it this evening with a head of Chinese cabbage saut�ed with garlic in olive oil. It works fine.

While at the rec centre to sign the kids up for karate, I decided to drop into sports medicine and make an appointment with the doctor there to look at my poor shoulder which has been giving me grief for ten years or thereabouts. The receptionist and I had a wonderful chat, laughing and making the other staff curious as to what was going on. We somehow got on the topic of how our bodies are informing us in no uncertain terms that the 40s is a decade of dilapidation. But then we both agreed that there was a tradeoff: the sex is a hell of a lot better; not as frequent, maybe, but better.

Patsy and I are pleased with our new belly-dancing class. It�s small, there�s actually room to move around in without worrying about whapping your neighbour in the face, and we are working solely on technique. We both felt that neither one of us was good enough at this yet to be learning a choreography, and yet those are the classes that are most popular. For the first time since I have been taking belly dancing, I actually felt that maybe I really am making progress. So perhaps I�ll stick with it for a while longer yet.

The temperature is plummeting and severe wind-chill warnings are in effect. Everyone dress warmly please.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>