Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Sunshine, lollipops and broken glass everywhere�

Friday, Apr. 14, 2006
3:56 p.m.
It is an absolutely glorious day, the sun is shining, there isn�t a cloud in the sky, it�s warm without being hot (although I found it just a tad cool for bare arms), and I am poorer by another $800+. The Subaru needed new summer tires. So, two cars and two days later, I�m out a cool $2,000+. Sucks, eh?

The R0ck for RecycIing was rescheduled for today, since it rained last week, except that the student�s council forgot to get another liquor permit, so the event couldn�t be held on campus and instead was moved to the backyard of a student house on Little F0rks Street. I walked into town after bringing the newly tired car home and met up with my daughter�s band members as they waited for her to arrive. She had played in church this morning and had been promised that she�d be out way before 12:30, only to be sitting there, cooling her heels, as the service droned on.

I wandered off with the bassist and the guitarist (my buddy Chris and the BF respectively) to find some food, and bought a 12" sub which I ended up sharing with Little Princess. We sat on the lawn (which was strewn with beer caps and broken glass, being right next door to the broken-glass strewn parking lot of student-occupied apartment buildings); the bassist had brought a cooler of PBR beer in cans (which I understand is cheaper than water if you�re buying it, that is, and which tastes worse than water) upon which he had stuck labels that said �Doppelbrau�. I had one, which I could not finish (how can you Americans drink that stuff?) and instead stuck with the rootbeer I had picked up when I bought my sandwich. Hubby arrived from his tennis game and started jamming with some of the musicians until it was time for the show to start. Little Princess� band was first up, and they were actually pretty good. I was having fun, being surrounded by young people drinking beer, smoking dope, eating junk food, painting a big sheet (I added an angelic ampersand) and just enjoying the beautiful weather.

But Hubby hadn�t had lunch, so we left after that set and came home, where I took in the laundry I had hung out earlier and he fixed himself some sustenance.

There were three recitals last night: a half-recital for one of Hubby�s classical guitar students, and two 2nd-year juries done as public performances, piano and voice respectively. We went to the bar afterwards to celebrate with the guitarist, and that was kind of nice. I need to have a night in, though. It looks like tonight�s it.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>