Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

April showers�

Saturday, Apr. 15, 2006
3:54 p.m.
We just had a �buckets and pails� thunderstorm, the first of the season, prompting me to turn off and unplug the computer and take a hot bath while the rain and hail pelted the western side of the house, the windows coated as though a hose had been turned on them, to be followed shortly after by soft breezes and sunshine. The sun is no longer shining and the sky has clouded over again and it�s raining again, gently this time.

It has been an incredibly slothful day. I woke late, didn�t get out of my pyjamas and bathrobe until the storm hit and I took that bath, and I have no plan to go anywhere or do anything in the leastwise productive. Well, I lie. I was copying music earlier, alternating between that and chatting on MSN and playing online spider solitaire.

My iMac is experiencing technical difficulties, which worry me. It is a little over a year old (acquired just before Christmas 2004), has no warranty anymore, and when running, it works fine. The problem is the startup. Upon turning it on, everything is normal until it�s time for the desktop to appear. In some cases the screen just remains blue, no desktop, nothing at all, just a blue limbo. More often, though, the desktop is built and then devolves into a series of diagonal lines, sometimes light, sometimes dark, always different colours. Either way it is necessary for me to manually shut down the computer, then turn it back on again. Sometimes it takes as many as four or five tries to get the thing working properly. This particular session it didn�t crash on the third startup. Sometimes it appears to start up fine, I will try to launch a program, and then it will crash. Other times, after a prolonged period of idleness it will crash when awoken. I know nothing about computers, which is why I like Macintosh so much, and can�t imagine what is causing this. My concern is that someday, no matter how often I try to start it up, it will simply keep crashing, which is why I want to go out and get some sort of storage device, like those new data sticks, so I can back everything up and not worry about taking it into the shop.

Wow, it really is raining again. Well, you know what they say about those April showers, eh?

|

<~~~ * ~~~>