Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Sunshine, lollipops, and rainbows everywhere...

Wednesday, Apr. 7, 2004
12:59 p.m.
First and foremost, the string quartet concert last night was incredibly beautiful. They started off with an early Beethoven quartet which was breathtakingly beautiful, followed by a Bartok quartet, the middle movement of which I missed because I was overcome with a tickle in my throat and had to leave the hall to cough uncontrollably for several minutes. But until I had to leave I was in raptures. The second half of the programme was a Grieg quartet, incredibly beautiful and lots of fun too. Their new first violinist is incredible, a recent transplant from Italy who plays with such energy and panache, as well as a beautiful tone and great sensitivity. She has a killer handshake, too.

Hubby and I met them afterwards at a bistro, as they were hungry (all except the second violinist, who was tired and went back to the hotel), but it was after 11 p.m. and the kitchen was closed. So they ate pretzels and drank beer. I was a good girl this time, having only a Perrier with lime. Such nice people. The cellist, originally American who has been living in Canada for 15 years now, finally got his Canadian citizenship a couple of months ago. He said it took having Bush for a president to convince him to do it.

This morning I greased up my mould and poured my tuffstone. Friday I will crack open the mould and keep my fingers crossed that my piece turned out. Jim suggested that I spraypaint it afterwards, and I'm trying to decide on a colour. At first I thought a glossy black would be neat, then I started thinking that a metallic gold or silver would also be neat. Perhaps I'll have a better idea when I see the finished product.

The weather is definitely warming up again. My Kanuk coat is too warm. Patsy has planned for us to hang our ornaments on a goddess tree today, and was hoping for sunshine. Well, we've got it.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>