Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I�m B-A-C-K!

Wednesday, Jan. 28, 2004
9:32 a.m.
I failed to mention last night that my back is giving me a hard time, yet again. This time it started with a stiff feeling between my shoulder blades a few days ago, which I actually commented about to Patsy at bellydancing class. After the class, though, with all the movement and stretching, I thought it was finished. But no, it was not to be. Yesterday afternoon, while sitting at the computer, minding my own business, I all of a sudden felt a sharp twinge just next to my left shoulder blade which left me whimpering in a most wimpish way, sending pain down my left arm and up into my neck when I tried to bend my head forward. I am so sick of my back giving me grief.

Anyway, to continue with this tale of torsion, I tried stretching in all sorts of ways, to no avail, so I took an extra-strength Advil, heated a beanbag in the microwave, and tried taking a nap on my stomach with the heated compress on the affected area. As I was lying there, I remembered that I had some bills due that day, and gourd forbid I should have to pay interest. So I arose, donned my winter wear, and headed to the bank, where I divested our account of many thousands of dollars (yikes!) on account of the Visa bills having come in also with the Brumalia purchases noted therein. Pay day can�t come soon enough. Then I toddled over to the pharmacy where I purchased some Robaxacet, which is known to all and sundry from the commercials featuring wooden puppet people with pins sticking out of their backs. I think it works pretty well. Better than the Advil, in any case.

I�m glad that tcklyrpharsn is still checking in with us from time to time. Gosh I miss her! I�m hoping she does move to Montreal when they return from Europe so they�ll be closer to us and we get to visit more often. It isn�t often that professors and former students keep up a friendly relationship like this. I know that Hubby and I still keep up with a couple of his professors from Ann Arbor, but now we are on the other end of the chronological chasm. One thing for being in an academic environment: being surrounded all the time by young people doesn�t give you a chance to get stodgy yourself. It�s a great job!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>