Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

What a day it�s been�and it�s not over yet!

Thursday, Jan. 29, 2004
4:46 p.m.
Yes, folks, it�s been quite the day. First off, I washed the main level floors (Hubby kindly vacuumed them and the basement last night). This is a big deal. The floors, which used to get washed weekly when I had a cleaning lady, now get washed every other month (if they�re lucky). You know that commercial for Swiffer or something dusters? Well, they would just sit in the cupboard here, no matter how much fun they are to use, because I would not use them. Period. I also cleaned out the microwave oven and the stove top.

And why, you might be asking, am I all of a sudden so domestically inclined? Well, did I mention that this Friday�s artist, a classical guitarist, is our houseguest for the next couple of nights? I had to make up the guest room, clean the bathrooms (both his and on the main floor), and make the house look like we clean it on a regular basis. That meant washing off all the dried mud stains tracked in with the boots, the wood chips from carrying wood in for the stove, and making sure that no one sticks to the kitchen floor by accidentally stepping in the wrong spot.

So, after a short bath (no lingering in the bubbles for me today) I went to the U, hunted for a parking space (that�s what I get for not arriving there at 8:30 like the real professors), taught two lessons, rushed out to the bus station to pick up R�my (that was easy, it was a guy with a guitar), took him home, made sure he was comfortable, then rushed back to teach two more lessons. Whereupon I checked my buddy list (priorities are priorities, after all), then went grocery shopping, and now I�m home.

But wait, we�re not done yet! Groceries had to be put away, laundry had to be taken out of the dryer, firewood had to be brought in (and cleaned up after) and a fire made, and a cup of tea made and drunk with a piece of my most excellent fruit cake . Since I hadn�t updated since yesterday morning, I felt drawn to the computer, and since there are no kids home right now to monopolize it, I figured I would drink my tea while I posted a new entry. Wouldn�t you know, I signed in to MSN and my girlfriend from Israel was online, so we had to chat (which is a good thing, she and I have been friends since before puberty) for a few minutes, and now I have to finish this off and go make some pasta al cavolfiore (from Moosewood, don�t you know) for supper before I pick my son up from his play rehearsal. R�my is giving a masterclass tonight starting at 7:00, so I guess I�d best get cracking.

My back is feeling much better, thanks for asking. I took some more Robaxacet this morning before going in to teach, and I�m almost sorry. It took away the pain, but it also made me a little dizzy. So I apologized in advance to my students in case I was weirder than usual. No one seemed to mind, though. I was a little worried about driving the car though. As a matter of fact, I had a near mishap leaving the Provigo parking lot this afternoon (the drug had worn off by this time). It was very icy and the car started sliding into traffic. The all-wheel drive and the ABS brakes didn�t do a thing to slow me down. I almost slid right into the traffic, but fortunately the road was not icy and the oncoming cars were able to avoid me, and my tires soon hit dry pavement. Whew! So, just because you drive a fancy car with all the bells and whistles, don�t think that you are immune from near calamities.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>