Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Warm, fuzzy feelings are welcome in the bleak mid-winter

Tuesday, Jan. 27, 2004
10:42 p.m.
Hi everyone! I just got home from my writing group, which was smaller than usual tonight, probably due to the weather (cold, again). Dorothy won�t go out until it warms up a little, Margaret is in the hospital following brain surgery (shiver) to remove a tumor, which I understand was successful and she�s recovering well, Deb wasn�t there, and Leanne will only be coming every other week. Sally had missed school because she had to go back to Winnipeg for her grandfather�s funeral, so she was catching up on her studies. That left Janice, Pat, Bruce, Jim, Chris and me. It was nice having such a small group.

I gave Pat a ride home, as I often do, and also Chris, who did not argue when I offered one. Hey, it�s cold outside! I asked him where he was from, how he had ended up here, et cetera, and it turns out that he�s originally a westerner from the prairies, went to college in Toronto, and is here because his fianc�e is from here and they�re living with her parents as they try to save some money for their wedding next October. So of course I asked him if he had met her while he was at school, and he said no actually, they met over the internet. Not through a dating service or anything tawdry like that, but through a web diary. Now then, that�s interesting!

I must admit that I feel I know some of the people whose diaries I read pretty well, and I have actually struck up an acquaintance with some of them through the notes we leave each other and the occasional emails. But I never actually thought of a romance springing up that way, until I remembered that Elizabeth Barrett and Robert Browning wrote letters to each other for years before they finally met and married. There is nothing new in that department, it�s just the technology that has changed. I think it�s a wonderful story and it gives me a warm, fuzzy feeling.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>