Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

What�s a girl to do?

Monday, Jan. 12, 2004
8:46 a.m.
I have a few options open to me:

1. I bite the bullet and buy a new printer.

2. Save everything I want to save from the iMac onto Zip disks, and wipe the hard drive, reinstalling the original stuff that came with the computer in the first place, then upgrade back to Mac OS 9.2.2 (a long and boring process, but everything was working fine before).

3. Weep uncontrollably and do nothing.

First of all, I am a cheapskate and I do not want to spring for a new printer, especially when the one I have was working so well. Secondly, this is a pretty old iMac now, and the processor is not powerful enough to take advantage of OS X to its full capacity. In other words, the on-line games that my son likes to play, Medal of Honour for example, won�t run fast enough to be enjoyable. And this was the whole reason he wanted OS X in the first place. Also, the programs that the kids use for their schoolwork and other things, i.e. Appleworks and Photoshop, don�t run on this system. They will run on this computer, but it needs to run OS 9.2.2. as an adjunct so that we in effect are running two computers. It is so confusing! I am not an uncontrollable weeper when faced with a dilemma, so No. 3 is not really a viable option, although I sure felt like it last night. I think I�m done now.

Still only one of my students has contacted me about setting up lessons, so I guess I have to get on the phone and do the job myself. I have also decided in earnest to take Pat�s goddess course, I just don�t know which section it will be, which will also depend on my teaching schedule or vice versa. To be honest, I�m a little trepidatious about doing a real academic course. It has been almost 22 years since I last wrote a paper and gave a seminar. We meet today at 3 p.m. to decide on our topics and section (MW 13:30-15:00 or MW 15:00-16:30), and I have to go to the Continuing Education office to get a registration form. One nice thing about this university is that faculty spouses and children can take courses for FREE. We pay a registration fee, but it�s only around $10. That�s one of the reasons we are encouraging our kids to go here, but it is also an excellent liberal arts school. Just ask some of our graduates!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>