Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I like my curly hair, really I do!

Monday, Jan. 12, 2004
9:29 p.m.
This is truly unbelievable. After going for weeks it seems with diary updates coming in drips and drabs, I logged in and found practically my whole buddy list lit up in glorious red. Not only that, but I got some very sympathetic and helpful advice from cliquet about my OS X troubles. I write this diary mainly for myself, I suppose, but every so often I realize that I�m not in a vacuum at all and there really are people out there who care about what I have to say.

We had our first goddess class today, 20 people (three of them young men, believe it or not) crammed into a tiny seminar room in MacKinnon. It won�t continue like this, since Patsy has divided the class into two sections of roughly ten apiece, which is much more manageable, and there will actually be elbow room around the table. She passed a beautiful Egyptian alabaster bowl around with names of goddesses written on folded up pieces of yellow paper which we had to dip into for our first seminar topic. Someone asked her if we couldn�t choose our own goddesses, and she answered, �The goddess will choose you.� This was particularly true in my case, as my little scrap of paper revealed the name Medusa once it was unfolded. How appropriate, considering the struggle I have had all my life coming to terms with my naturally wavy hair. I have already started searching through the tons of reference material we have at home, looking for references to my Gorgon. Fear not, you will definitely be hearing more on this subject.

It was weird to be in MacKinnon again. The music department used to be in there before we moved to our new (and improved) premises. What was once our concert hall has been subdivided into offices and closets and this particular seminar room. I hardly recognized it as being the same place. Willa has moved the slide library over there from the art building (that�s where Patsy was as well, complaining of the poor ventilation and circulation of toxic materials in the air), and actually has her very own office now with a huge window and glass walls. It�s lovely, as is Patsy�s office. Dr. M. was back from her holidays with the remains of a terrible cold. She sounded like a baritone. We chatted briefly in Hebrew, as we often do, which always reminds me how hopelessly deficient I have become in that language. To think that once I was completely fluent. Now I have to translate everything from French first, as that is the first second language I speak these days.

This evening I have been trying to contact my students to arrange my teaching schedule. It would be nice if I didn�t have to go through this confusion at the beginning of every semester, but I don�t see how I could do it any differently. I am still waiting for one to call me back, and I had the wrong number for another, so I�m afraid I still don�t know when I�m coming and going. This too shall pass.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>