Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Let�s hear those jingle-jangles jingle!

Saturday, Oct. 25, 2003
2:43 p.m.
Pat and I had a most productive visit to the baladi boutique. She�s a most inspiring shopping aide. First she commented on my being a �winter�, so I should look for silver, as opposed to gold, spangles. At first we found a really nice red one, triangular (sort of, it�s got a point at the back, anyway) with a single row of �coins� sewn all around the edge. It made a nice sound when it jangled, and looked good on me, but another red one caught my eye, and I tried that one on, with better results. This time there were triangular shaped �drapings� of jingles and beads, on a darker, more sophisticated red, without the point in the back. It looks really good on, and makes a nice sound when I shimmy. So I bought that one, as well as a black, triangular number, chiffon with irridescent black beads sewn all around the edge. I just fell in love with it and thought it would look really nice as a shawl.

The grand total for these two items was $130! Unfortunately, the store didn�t take plastic, and I had no money at all on me. Pat (the dear soul) had her cheque book with her, and wrote out a cheque for the two scarves. I was ever so grateful, and immediately paid her back (all but $10, since the ATM only gives $20�s) when we got back to L�ville and the bank. I�ll see her in writing class on Tuesday and pay her the rest then.

She lent me a book I�ve been after her for years to let me read, the sequel to Pau1ine Gedge�s ancient-Egyptian historical novel �House of Dreams�. I read that one when we were in Greece; a previous apartment renter had left a number of books on a shelf, which I partook of after I read all the ones I had brought. So now I get to find out what happened to the ex-concubine Thu, the blue-eyed beauty of the Nile.

Then I went grocery shopping, and finally made it back to the library, where I could not find the recording I wanted, even though I had a call number for it and the computer system told me it was in. Hmmm� So, I ended up taking the English text from the vocal score, which is unfortunately not exact, but close enough, and I�ll work with that. The end.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>