Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Whiling away the hours...

Saturday, Oct. 25, 2003
10:39 a.m.
Okay, I�m kind of angry here. As you can see by the time stamp, it is Saturday morning, and I just found out that the university library is not open until 11, and I was hoping to get some research done in the music room before I meet Patsy to go shopping at the baladi boutique for a doofus. That's her word, not mine. It refers to one of those scarves with the jinglejangles on it.

I need translations for those Rossini arias (I think I've said this before), and the only reliable source it seems is record inserts. Oy vey! So I came back to the part-timers� office in the music department, and fired up their dinosaur of a PC, and here I am, whiling away the hours, conversing with the flowers, consulting with the rain, because I obviously do have a brain!

Yes, there was yet another concert last night. Flute, violin, piano, starring none other than Anick, our flute teacher and friend. The composers were all lightweights: Cui, Martinu, Goosens and Fran�aix. Hubby said he liked the Goosens best of all, but I didn�t have any particular favourite. I was sitting with Vlad, who was simply appalled at the way the pianist was murdering the new Hamburg Steinway. Such a beautiful instrument, but you would never know it.

I look at my watch and see that several minutes have passed, and while the library will opening soon, I am also supposed to pick Pat up at her place. I guess I�ll go to Pat�s. The translations can wait a few more hours.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>