Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Zappaddy doo zip

Thursday, Aug. 5, 2004
12:39 p.m.
Here is something I meant to bring to the attention of my musical friends which Hubby found for me and I found extremely amusing. This was the keynote address to the 1984 convention of the American Society of University Composers (ASUC) held in Columbus, Ohio, given by none other than Frank Zappa, the enfant terrible of pop and serious music alike. Apparently Zappa�s real ambition in life was to be recognized as a serious composer, but he also realized the financial folly of such an aspiration and instead turned his business acumen towards his parodying of popular culture, at which he was extremely successful. Listening to Zappa now, having the musical education I lacked when I first heard him in my tender untutored youth, I hear quotes from all sorts of classical (as in genre, not era) pieces, and I can chuckle appreciatively, whereas before my eyes glazed over. Let that be a lesson to all you young people out there: STAY IN SCHOOL!

I have copied up to measure 70 of the symphony. Hubby has just finished scoring measure 176. I think I better work faster.

Yesterday was a hot sunny day, a welcome respite after all the rain we�ve been having. But last night it rained yet again, sucking the heat out of the air and leaving us with a slightly breezy, cool day. I actually had to put a sweater on, that�s how much the mercury has fallen. The temperate zone has its charms; remind me what they are again, please?

Okay, my break is over and it�s time to get back to work.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>