Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I�m sure that telephone pole wasn�t there before, officer!

Thursday, Aug. 5, 2004
7:24 p.m.
My husband arrived home all in a tizzy this afternoon, sweaty from tennis and upset because he had gone to get motor oil for the lawnmower and backed our beautiful, almost-new, timberline-green Subaru Outback into a telephone pole and made a nasty scrape and indententation on the rear passenger side of the car. I couldn�t get too excited about it. After all, I have done the nasty to many vehicles while I was at the wheel, including swinging our old Honda out of a parking place in a parking structure right into a cement pillar, and smashing the Volvo head on into a bridge girder.

Whenever I have damaged a vehicle, I have always looked after the necessary arrangements to get it repaired, even in a state of shock after the latter accident. As a matter of fact, when the same Honda was rear-ended by a pickup truck a couple of weeks before we were to move from Hubby�s former university of employment to the present one, it was I who got on the phone on a Friday afternoon just before closing time in a town an hour�s drive from where we lived and dealt with the insurance and repair people and arranged the rental of a replacement vehicle.

So when my dearly beloved started asking about insurance policies and repair options, I was not all that helpful. I figured, he broke it, let him fix it. He was not happy with my non-involvement, especially since I seemed disinclined to even discuss it with him. I did find the insurance policy for him and helped him look up the number of our garagiste, but apart from that it was his call. To tell the truth, I was feeling a little smug, since he is always telling me what a great driver he is, and this put him in his place.

My brugmansia has four flower buds on it. I am very excited. So far the hummingbirds have been boycotting the new feeder. I made up some new solution, but there are still no takers. I�m afraid there is nothing left to add.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>