Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Sunshine, at last!

Saturday, Aug. 14, 2004
3:55 p.m.
The weather today is absolutely glorious. I have a load of wash on the line which I am confident will dry, Buddy Boy has mowed the lawn which grew to enormous lengths during all that rain, and we have topped it off by watching the women and men�s synchronized Olympic diving on our 55" television. At one point Buddy Boy noticed a little frog climbing on the screen of one of the basement windows, which sits below the surface of the lawn in a well, so I rescued the poor amphibian which would otherwise perish because he would never get out of there under his own power. Presently he is hiding in a clump of peppermint.

My brugmansia flower continues to fascinate me. During the day it is almost odourless. It is at night that it scents the air with an incredible perfume. It is not completely white, but has a bit �blushing� happening at the edges of the trumpet along the veins. There are at least four more buds, and I am all excited about them opening as well. I am easily entertained.

I had a very nice chat with my brother this morning. He and his family will be in Toronto from September 23 to October 14, and they are planning a short jaunt to my neck of the woods. We planned for the October 1 weekend, but now it turns out that our concert artists for that date are staying with us (the same kind folks who informed us about the exploding coffee maker), so I emailed him back suggesting that they take the train on the Saturday and leave again on the Tuesday. Neither Hubby nor I will be teaching on the Monday, which means they will get to spend more time with us. Perhaps we could even get Buddy Boy to play hooky so that he and his cousin can spend the day together as well.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>