Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Espresso machine go boom!

Wednesday, July 14, 2004
8:13 p.m.
I have just had a lovely day. Hubby and I were invited for lunch by a Canadian-Argentinian composer and his actor/singer wife in Montreal. I had warned her in advance that we were not meat eaters, which gave her a moment�s pause, but she came through with flying colours, presenting a spinach quiche and mesclun salad, with lemon meringue pie and tea/coffee after. The pastry was so incredibly flaky. Mine doesn�t turn out like that, and my pastry is damn good. She was also pouring sangria, and I fear that I imbibed a little too much, resulting in a bit of a headache on the way home, although I would never say that I became tipsy.

After the main course, the two men went off to play tennis. Hubby soundly beat our host, but when you consider that the former is only 45 and the latter 75, you can understand why. I think the wife was a little concerned that Hubby would overtax him, but he knows his limits. The wife is only 53. They have three children, the youngest being 21, so they have been around a bit longer than us.

While the boys were playing games, we chatted about this and that, nothing earthshattering, mostly the kind of talk middle-aged women engage in, centering around children, weight gain and housekeeping.

I did get some very important information though regarding the espresso machine I went to such trouble to obtain for Hubby for his birthday. Apparently this particular model had a recall issued on it because it could explode. So I shall do a search and email the company to see what can be done about it. Our hostess said that we shouldn�t need our bill even, as they will tell us how to dispose of our present one and ship us a new one. How very bizarre.

We go off tomorrow for a week�s visit to Ontario, so I shall not be updating unless I can sneak some time on my brother-in-law or sister-in-law�s computer when we are at their respective houses. That means I will have lots of diary reading to catch up on too. Everyone have a great week!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>