Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The mosquitoes have discovered the tender bits behind my knees.

Saturday, Jun. 5, 2004
5:28 p.m.
My flower beds are now a glory of petunia and impatiens. I went for red, pink and violet, and also planted a brugmansia , or Angel Trumpet, at the end of one of my borders which promises salmon-coloured bell-shaped blooms. This plant is poisonous, causing halucinations and death in large enough quantities, and I read somewhere that farmers have to uproot it from their pastures because cattle will eat it and die. So I guess it tastes all right, although I�m not going to give it a try. My nursery guru informed me that it can be dug up in the fall, potted and kept in an almost dry state in the garage, or where the temperature doesn�t drop below freezing, and replanted the next spring after danger of frost is past. I could even put it in the cold cellar, since I don�t trust the garage to stay above freezing, considering the number of power outages we get around here.

I also splurged on a gorgeous purple and pink verbena hanging basket, which is on the deck now, and my usual allotment of tomato plants and parsley. I did, however, also buy some more lemon balm and some chocolate mint. It�s so cool! Those I will put in pots, along with the tarragon which is in danger of becoming completely grassed over, and perhaps a handful of chives. One year I grew garlic chives, and they had the most delicate, star-like flowers. I discovered last year that I can dig up my allium in the late summer and use the bulbs for garlic. They worked great in pesto.

I guess that wraps it up for now. I have discovered a varicose vein on my left calf, another indication that I can�t cheat Father Time.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>