Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Mud Puddle Sailor

Tuesday, July 27, 2004
10:55 p.m.
I found some treasures today, gold among the dross. Several weeks ago the kids and Hubby emptied the basement of boxes and baby items and just dumped them in the garage. Today I went through them to see what to keep and what to throw out and what to donate to the Diabetes Assocation.

It was so dusty I started sneezing, my eyes were watering, and I�m still feeling the effects. There were baby clothes, toys, the old baby carriage, bassinet, bathtub, a baby scale and the potty. Ah yes, the potty. I did manage to salvage a silk blouse which I remembered having once liked, a bamboo flute which someone had given me as a Christmas present 20 years ago and I hadn�t seen in 15, and a poster from the first Sat�ri Festival, the precursor to Winnipeg�s annual new music shindig. I also found the kefiyah (spelling anyone?) my brother brought home for me from his first trip to Israel, the little balls of cotton in the four corners hopelessly tangled, a lace shawl which I had been wondering about recently, and the very first sweater I ever knitted in entirety.

I also found a bag of photographs taken when I was a teenager, my school photos from highschool, and snaps of my first fianc�e. I was such an adorable 14-year-old! I showed that particular photo to Buddy Boy and asked him who he thought it was. It was my eyes that gave me away. The Diabetes Association is sending a truck on Saturday to pick up the remaining stuff. I also reduced carboard boxes to recyclable sizes and filled garbage bags with styrofoam.

It�s kind of sad seeing all those toys and clothes go. There were two car seats (infant and toddler) and a booster seat too. I remember all the hours we spent rocking Little Princess in the bassinet, reading while we rocked. Man, she was hard to get to sleep. Oh well, now we just have to worry about whether she�s coming home at night. There�s a song I remember from my coffee house days, "Blues is like shoes, ranging in sizes, when you're a young boy, the sizes are small. Blues is like shoes, you'll find when you're older the shoes you have now are the nicest of all."

|

<~~~ * ~~~>