Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

All wrapped up now.

Wednesday, July 28, 2004
8:43 a.m.
I did something stupid when we packed to go on our trip: I neglected to put sanitary napkins in my kit bag after looking at the calendar and determining that my period would not arrive before we got home. Really stupid. As it turned out, my period arrived Friday morning and I just happened to have one pad in the pocket of a jacket I impulsively threw in the car just before we left. Phew! So Buddy Boy and I headed off on another stroll to the pharmacy to get me what I needed and to pick up a loaf of bread for Grandma. It wasn�t a totally wasted trip for him, since he did buy himself some mini-doughnuts for the car.

As soon as we arrived in Toronto, my mother co-opted me and the car to do some jobs for her. I took her to Can@dian Tire so that she could purchase a new pressure cooker. The old-fashioned cast-aluminum pressure cooker with the indicator weight that has the plug with the ppsi markings on it is etremely heavy and my mother simply can�t lift hers anymore. The new ones are incredibly light and much safer. So we headed off to do that, and at the same time I purchased for myself a new drawer liner (to hold cutlery) and a new set of measuring cups. I then took her to Joe�s for her haircut and leafed through a magazine dedicated to plastic surgery while I waited. Not my cup of tea, thank you.

Hubby and I had offered to take my mother out for dinner, but she complaind that restaurant meals send her blood pressure through the roof, so I elected to cook instead. I made a tuna/macaroni dish, using olive oil instead of butter for the cream sauce (made with skim milk) and it worked out quite well. However, I refrained from adding any salt, and it was rather bland. We also had corn-on-the-cob and blueberry pie for dessert (which I did not make).

Since I couldn�t get a-hold of Jenn and Mark, the three of us went to see I, Robot. Buddy Boy liked it a lot, and Hubby liked it also. I�m the only one who has actually read the Asimov robot books, and I found it lacking. But then, it is only suggested by the Asimov, not based on it. Will Smith is a honey, though; I�ll grant him that.

[There�s another late-night entry just before this one.]

|

<~~~ * ~~~>