Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Goddamned snow.

Thursday, Apr. 12, 2007
10:51 p.m.
Mid-April, there should be crocuses in the lawn and daffodils in the flower beds, and instead we got another dumping of white shit. The temperature has been hovering around the freezing mark all day, so the stuff is heavy, wet, almost slush like. I am so incredibly sick of this constant downpouring of oobleck-like precipitation, you wouldn’t believe.

The kids had their year-end karate dinner tonight and Hubby offered them a lift to it, at one of the pseudo-Greek restaurants that seem so popular around here, asking me if I would come along for the ride, which I did. We slogged our way through the slush, with more stuff coming down constantly, and finally dropped them off at their destination. Then he asked me if I wanted to go out for dinner. Wow! Not even an occasion! So we went to the Mexican restaurant in town and had a really nice meal.

Then we came back to L’ville and rented a movie, The Oh in Ohi0, which neither he nor I had ever heard of before, even the guy behind the counter at the video rental place (Little Princess’ old boyfriend, as a matter of fact) didn’t know anything about it, but the package promised a few laughs. It turned out to be a comedy about sex and did indeed deliver those few laughs.

Tomorrow I take the Subaru to the garage to have the oil and filters changed and to see about that horrible scraping sound that’s coming from one of the wheels. Normally we would also get the summer tires put on, but I think we’ll wait for a while this time around. Oobleck. Feh.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>