Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Pain, pleasure and more snow.

Friday, Apr. 13, 2007
10:10 p.m.
I was at a student recital this evening. It was long and not always enjoyable, but the reception consisted of a huge tub of ice cream, a scoop, bowls, spoons, and lots of different toppings, so that more than made up for the agony of listening to bad singers and a nervous pianist.

One of the singers was doing her honours graduation recital, but I don’t see how she got her programme approved. The requirements are three musical eras and three languages. She had all Mozart opera arias relieved by one Schubert Lied and three songs by Clara Schumann. Where was her third language, where was her third musical style? Where, in fact, were the extra 30 minutes of repertoire she needed to make up the required hour?

The other two singers were better, but I was still disappointed. Both of them studied with me their first year at Bushop’s and switched to the other teacher after that. I still know their voices intimately. I know when they’re faking it. One of them was faking it. The other was just riding on her natural ability.

But the ice cream made it worth it all in the end.

Because I live in Canada, especially Quebec, that pays, que n’est pas un pays, c’est l’hiver, I am posting some more photos, all studies in white and gray, taken yesterday and today, illustrating exactly what kind of abuse we are taking from Mother Nature at this moment.

Yesterday it snowed. Well, so what, it’s been snowing since last Wednesday, but yesterday I actually had my camera on hand and took some pictures. This is what it was doing in the backyard:

DSC00752

DSC00750

Then, joy oh joy, this is what it looked like today as I took pictures of the backyard and the clothesline and birdfeeder:

DSC00753

DSC00754

Finally, a view of my front yard looking toward my neighbour to the NE:

DSC00758

And that’s all she posted.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>