Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The new term begins.

Tuesday, Jan. 9, 2007
12:48 p.m.
Today it is wintry, cold enough that I made a fire in the woodstove last night and augmented it this morning. According to my weather widget, it’s 1°C out there (that’s the projected high, with a low of -7°C), cold enough to warrant a winter coat and boots (yes, there’s also snow).

Little Princess is sick with a cold; she called home to get a ride after her class this morning (do we baby our kids or what?), and I have been feeling like I’ve been fighting one for a couple of days now. I, however, strongly believe in the power of echinacea and have been dosing myself with it regularly. That’s the clincher: you have to believe or it doesn’t work.

We had our first Latin poetry class with the new classics hire. I like her. We’ll be reading parts of Virgil’s Aeneid, and today we talked about scansion, dactylic hexameter to be precise. It’s not always self-evident where the long and short stresses are, and CF is quite insistent that we pay attention to it. It makes sense, this poetry was written, after all, to be read aloud, and the rhythm of it would be an important part of the delivery.

Mandy was here for the first time since before the holidays, and the house sure needed her deft touch, especially since there were fir needles everywhere from the discarded Brumalia shrubbery (which is still lying on the lawn, just another neighbourhood arboreal plague victim) caught up in the usual dust and my long hairs which seem to end up everywhere. With the amount I lose, I am continually amazed that I have so many left over.

We also start up choir practice again today. The character of the spring show being what it is, I don’t really look as forward to this session as the last, but hopefully, since I plan on getting involved in the dance numbers (don’t look at me like that, I can dance!), maybe I’ll have more fun.

Speaking of choirs, I never realized the weight that was off my shoulders by not being in the UpIands ensemble this past month until I realized that it had passed and I hadn’t even been aware of when the concerts were. Now that was nice. No more getting shushed, no more feeling like a second-class citizen, no more having the cream stop rising to the top because someone poured a layer of oil over it. All in all, it was a good move to let it go.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>