Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Maybe it just wasn’t funny.

Monday, Jan. 8, 2007
8:41 p.m.
Taking Buddy Boy to pick up his registration package at the college and to buy him a pair of non-marking court shoes, we backed out of the driveway and I said, a propos the discarded Brumalia shrubbery on our curb, “Look! There’s a dead tree!” As we straightened out the car, I said of the neighbour’s Christmas tree left out for the trash across the street, “Look! There’s another dead tree!” As we turned the corner, we saw yet another lying forlorn waiting for the garbage truck and I exclaimed, “Oh my god! It’s an epidemic!”

Why is it that my son said to me, “Okay, Mom, you can stop now” and my daughter burst out laughing when I told it to her after the fact? Is there something about the way I told the story as opposed to when it was actually happening? Humour is such a serious business.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>