Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Baby, it’s c-c-cold outside.

Saturday, Dec. 9, 2006
8:19 a.m.
Winter is definitely here now. Although it is warmer today (-5°C/23°F) at the moment, yesterday was a cool -12°C/10°F. The wind was cutting too, and I started to wonder if my Kanuk coat is doing its job.

I finally went to the gym with Hubby yesterday, after he bought a family membership to the rec centre and I haven’t used it all term. It’s changed a lot since I learned how to use the equipment, over ten years ago, when I faithfully worked out three times a week then stopped because I realized I hated it. Well, I still hate it. The machines are all different and there are more of them; the place seems to be really crowded. I’m also worried about stressing my tendonitic shoulder, but it seems to be all right. I think the belly dancing is actually helping it.

I gave myself a bit of a workout, upper and lower body, not very strenuous by most standards, but I’m still a lightweight, and then afterwards we headed over to the Association office to cast our ballots. The email came in last night after the tally was done and the strike vote went as follows: Fulltime Faculty/Librarian: 78 Yes, 17 No = 82.1%; Contract Faculty: 26 Yes, 6 No = 81.25%. This gives our union a clear mandate to strike in the event an agreement regarding the new contract isn’t met. It’s only been three years since our last strike. Our administration doesn’t know what we’re capable of.

Our ballot cast (they had pizza for members who had come to vote, but we didn’t have any), we drove over to Shalimar, getting there at 2:00 p.m., the buffet having officially closed at 1:30. But there was still food left over, so they let us have our lunch, which was delicious as always. I must find out how they make their rice pudding. I’ve never had any like it anywhere else.

Little Princess came home last night with Ed, Ollie and another pie, which I heated up in the oven for them, and then we all partook thereof. I like my daughter’s friends. I actually like her friends better than my own.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>