Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Computerless in L’ville

Wednesday, Oct. 8, 2008
10:07 p.m.
This morning, my head covered with hair dye (only my hairdresser knows for sure), I hit the on button on the back of my computer and nothing happened. Thinking that maybe there was a problem with my UPS (the box that keeps my computer on for a while after a power failure so I don’t automatically lose all my data), I tried different outlets, but alas, my computer refused to respond. The screen stayed black, the body was cold, and tumbleweeds blew through town as a cold wind whistled past my ears. Okay, maybe that last bit wasn’t quite true, but you get the point.

Forever resourceful, I called the repair guys and was told it sounded like it could be the power supply and I should bring it in. So I did that. The Macintosh service guys are a fair distance away and I was able to drive out there, deposit my G5, have a nice chat with the service guy (who happens to know my son and lived next door to the house we first lived in when we moved to this town 21 years ago, although after we no longer lived there), and get to the university about two minutes ahead of my 10:00 a.m. student.

When I got home at 4:30 p.m. there was a message that it was indeed the power supply, but the store doesn’t have the necessary part and will have to order it. I phoned up, authorizing the repair, and the guy told me it’ll probably be repaired by early next week and he’ll call me the instant it’s ready. In the meantime, I am reduced to using my husband’s laptop (I hate the keyboard) and the PC in the office at school (which I also detest).

While I am in despair without my computer, it really couldn’t have happened at a better time. This weekend marks Canadian Thanksgiving and we are driving to visit family, leaving early Friday, returning Monday night, and I wouldn’t be able to use it anyway. We get to stay over at our daughter’s place Friday night, visit my mother Saturday morning, then drive with our two kids and the boyfriend to my sister-in-law’s place in cottage country where we will eat till we puke (that’s just an expression, we won’t really do that), drink till we drop (that’s a distinct possibility) and enjoy the ambience and warmth of family and friends.

So, my friends, wish my computer and me luck, and we’ll see you when we’re both back.

Happy Thanksgiving!


|

<~~~ * ~~~>