Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

One last dig.

Thursday, Oct. 9, 2008
5:40 p.m.
I still have one day before we leave, and I still have access to the computer in my office, so I am taking advantage and posting an entry before I head off into the wild blue yonder.

I wrote my Spanish mid-term exam this morning. It went well, thank you. After three years of Latin, being fluent in French, and a year of Italian somewhere in my dark, distant past, this language is incredibly easy. No wonder more francophones in Quebec learn Spanish than English. It’s a piece of cake.

I celebrated this by buying a cup of tea and a chocolate danish at the coffee shop on my way to the music building, then ate it. Later I got soup and ate it. Then I taught a couple of students, helped out a choir member (who desires ardently to be a soprano but simply doesn’t have the high notes and refuses to switch to alto) by giving her some pointers that might make her life a little easier, and then had choir practice.

Immediately following choir, Dr. M of the tenors came up to me to say, “What are we doing here? It’s Yom Kippur!” I looked at him blankly and said, “If you hadn’t told me that, I wouldn’t have known.”

And so I felt that I should blog about it immediately, just to show you all how secularized I have become. And that’s the end of my story.


|

<~~~ * ~~~>