Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Bad news and good news.

Tuesday, Nov. 7, 2006
3:15 p.m.
I was napping just now before going out to choir (trying to make up for the hour and-a-half I lay awake last night) when the president of the faculty association called to tell me she had good news and bad news. First the bad news:

That deal I struck with the dean was not accepted by the executive committee. In fact, the dean was chastised for getting involved, something which directly contravenes the collective agreement.

The good news is this: The union not only got me the seniority point I asked for plus payment for the lesson taught the second-year student, but the whole year’s payment for the first-year student who switched on me, since she was guaranteed to me in the collective agreement. In my original deal with the dean, I would only be paid for half the year.

So, all in all, it worked out pretty well. I still get my money for one student, and I end up getting the seniority point for the other, and I don’t have to teach either one. Not a bad deal at all, I say.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>