Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

You’re getting sleepy...

Monday, May. 7, 2007
9:25 p.m.
I am saddened by what I see as an exodus in the making from Diaryland, this place where I have felt at home for the past several years. It’s become a neighbourhood of sorts, for lack of a better way of describing it. When I first joined, I did so at the urging of my friend Jenn who assured me that it was more than just about exposing yourself on the internet, it was about making friends and becoming part of a community.

Well, I stuck it out and that is exactly what happened. But she is no longer here. She moved elsewhere. Many of the original members of my community have moved elsewhere. I tried out the other place for a while, as an observer only, but never really felt at home there. Since then I’ve joined other sites where I’ve started more blogs, but the only one I really feel obligated to update regularly is here at Diaryland. Xanga is a close second, but none of the other places come near.

So, when I hear talk of people contemplating moving on, I am saddened. It’s like neighbours talking about selling their houses and relocating to a different city. I know I will lose touch with them, no matter how good my intentions are.

Anyway, enough of that. Everyone seems to be complaining about slow upload times and the lack of tech support. I don’t need to do that, too.

Buddy Boy accompanied me on my errands today. We drove out to the new plaza where WaI*Mart (insert a ward against evil here) and Canadian Tire are in order to go to the latter and find a replacement part for the spray washer, the coupler that attaches the hose to the machine. We found something that might work (it turns out that it fits the machine, but not the hose) and also picked up a bag of lawn fertilizer, and a trellis for the Arctic kiwi to grow on.

I was determined not to get lost coming back this time, and we ended up driving around the parking lot several times before I determined there really was only one way out of the place back to the highway, and luckily we were able to get on the right road and headed back to Costco. Buddy Boy was very good with the heavy lifting. We brought our purchases home, refrigerated and froze the perishables, then returned to our own downtown to pick up some stuff at the pharmacy and drop off his resumé at Subway (he’s really serious about getting a job this summer), where we ended up having lunch.

I also filled the car with gas so Hubby could drive it to Montreal, where it is now languishing in long-term parking at the airport because he has flown to Winnipeg for a few days to sit on an arts council jury. The other car is working fine, so it’s not like he’s left me vehicleless, but we don’t trust the Volvo not to break down on him on the highway.

So, here I sit, thinking about going to bed, even though it’s much too early, but I’m exhausted.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>