Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Keeshon, not Kayeshon

Friday, Nov. 6, 2009
10:38 p.m.
The cathedral St-Michel in Sh’brooke has the most echoey (I don’t even think that that’s a word, but I’m leaving it there) acoustics around. It might be good for Gabrielli antiphonal pieces, but it certainly sucks for MendeIss0hn.

We had our first rehearsal with the orchestra tonight. The place has a reverb that takes about five seconds to die. That’s a lot. The canons and fugal sections are just mud, I’m sure. Plus, it’s long and the choir is standing the whole time. The risers do not fit in their entirety, so we are on the marble steps and altar area in front of the stands, deep instead of wide. It’s all right for the people on the stands, because that’s a carpeted surface. I was standing on the hard stone floor, and my back is now aching. I must find some cushioned shoes for tomorrow.

The conductor thanked me personally afterward for singing with the group. He noticed that I am always watching him, I am always in tune and on time. Not so with everyone else. I don’t want to sing in the choir anymore, though. I want to be a soloist. I know it won’t happen. Feh.

At the break I told the baritone that he’s mispronouncing “Kishon’s Brook”. He said, “Are you sure?” I just looked at him with this pitying gaze and said, “Yes, I’m sure.” Oy.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>