Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Take the good with the bad.

Wednesday, Nov. 4, 2009
10:15 p.m.
In spite of all the setbacks I seem to be having lately, today was more encouraging. I spoke to the head nurse at my mother’s residence, and she will try to change my mother’s seating in the dining room so she gets to hang out with more men. She’s going through an angry phase right now, which the staff hadn’t seen before. I think it’s because she’s frustrated with her memory loss. She keeps leaving messages on my machine wanting to go home, and then upset because she can’t remember anything.

I auditioned and was auditioned by a new student today, an economics professor at the French CEGEP who has been studying singing for a few years now, mostly jazz, and wants to do a music minor. Her major is in modern languages. She’s about 40 and really wants to learn, which is much better than the student who thinks she already knows everything and a teacher can’t teach her anything new. I have that one tomorrow. This one today was delightful.

My voice seems to be healed. I’m still suffering from itchy throat and sniffles and sneezing, all allergy related, although I have no idea what’s causing them. The ragweed is dead, so it might be mold. At times I want to shove a bottle brush down my throat to scratch it. But I’m not breaking and cracking anymore, which is nice.

On the weekend I was ready to walk away from the choir, I was so upset with how things were going. But rehearsal was much better yesterday, possibly because my voice is better, and I’m more encouraged that things will go well.

So, this is all good. The weather forecast tonight is for snow flurries, which is not good. At least Hubby and I got the leaves raked on the weekend. We still don’t have any firewood, though. That’s not good.


|

<~~~ * ~~~>