Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

There’s no doubt in my mind where I’m going, I’ve got my instincts to show me the way.

Friday, Feb. 6, 2009
10:31 p.m.
I made an appointment today to get my eyebrows waxed in just over a week. I have never done that before. Just the idea of it freaks me out a little. But I really hate plucking them, and I never seem to get them just the way I want them, so for $10, I’ll let someone else do it.

This was following lunch with Ed, whose birthday it was last Monday, this being the first opportunity for me to take him out for a meal. We had vegetarian phó at the Captain and I complained to the waitress about the wooden (disposable) chopsticks that are replacing the nice faux ivory ones that were apparently being stolen. Bastards! They just don’t have the mouth feel that the others do, so I must make a note to remember to bring my own next time I go.

I then dropped into the pharmacy to buy some face cream. I had read in the paper about a Quebec company that has received a lot of acclaim, one of those “doctor brands” that come in understated packaging and receive very little publicity, but really do make a difference with aging skin. The aesthetician on duty recommended this product highly, and I ended up buying lotion in a pump that acts as day, night and eye contour cream. But it wasn’t cheap: 50 ml for $92! It better be good, that’s all I can say.

After this, I took the trip across country to Costco where I spent $200 on foodstuffs (and toilet bowl cleaner), and then came back through town so I could stop at the international food store for the Indian hot sauces my husband so loves. I also got some blueberry and cherry tisanes and whipped up a potful with one bag of each when I got home. It was delicious.

All of this eating and driving and shopping and spending does not come without a price tag (let alone the monetary one), and as I sipped my tea my eyes started closing of their own accord. So I went to bed and pretended to sleep for an hour or so, rising to make supper.

There was also a concert at the department tonight, a young Montreal pianist who must have fingers coming out the ends of her fingers. She was incredible. She’s my size with tiny little hands, but she made the piano ring! Her fffs were followed by delicate ppps, and her sensitivity was unmatched. I even bought her CD, I was so impressed.

And that, my friends, is that.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>