Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Three alto saxophones, see how they play!

Thursday, Feb. 5, 2009
10:36 p.m.
Today I received vindication as a writer. It came in the form of an email from the contest to which I had submitted a poem, the prototype of which I included in this entry, for the best Canadian poem. Over 100 were received, only 15 made the shortlist, and mine was among them. Even if I don’t win, just being shortlisted has made my day. The finals will be announced the same night as our blues concert, unfortunately, which means I can’t attend the celebrations. But that’s all right. I’ll be having a different kind of party.

My teaching slate is completely in order and I have met with all my students. I’ve also been given a plum solo in the choir show, Mabelle from The Pirates of Penn’s Aunt (just find me, search engines, I dare you!) in the grand finale from that operetta. The rest of the concert consists of music I have never heard of. I am so out of the loop.

Tonight Hubby and I went to hear a jazz show, a trio of alto sax players with piano, bass and drums. It was amazing. My mind is just buzzing with their virtuosity. Tomorrow is a piano concert and there’s a soprano I suppose I should go hear on Sunday. There’s just too much going on.




|

<~~~ * ~~~>