Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Sunshine, lollipops, and hormones

Wednesday, Sept. 5, 2007
8:31 p.m.
The sun shone, the sky was flawlessly blue, the air fresh, and I bitched at my husband for making verbal observations of all those things. Yes, folks, it’s that time of the month again, although I’m not quite sure if it’s a month or two or three anymore. Damned menopause!

I have been feeling particularly slothful of late. I don’t think that has anything to do with hormones, but you never know. Personally, I think it is a reaction to a summer chock full of activity, and now that it’s over and school is starting, I want a holiday. Yes, I know, I went on a holiday. But it wasn’t restful! I have never been so stressed out before.

There was the trip to the British Isles where I had to watch others drive on the left and I was constantly on the verge of car sickness as we traversed one roundabout after another (I’m not criticizing anyone’s driving, so don’t take offence for pete’s sake). There was planning our anniversary party and getting Buddy Boy ready and launched for his university career. There was the work on the yard (thank goodness the guy never came to do the floors--I don’t think I would have survived that) and before all that, the preparation of performance materials for Hubby’s second symphony. In other words, I did not have a restful summer.

So school officially started today. Because I do not feel like I am ready for this, I purposefully walked to the university with Hubby, who had to teach his first class after being on sabbatical all last term and who definitely felt a little rusty, so that I could acclimatize myself to an academic atmosphere so to speak. What I really needed to do was make photocopies of more music for my accompanist, but the machine in the music department office was on the fritz.

I went over to the library to use theirs, and had an adventure in utilizing a key card. The first machine wouldn’t recognize the card. The second machine wouldn’t give it back to me when the session was over. Instead the reader beeped at me nonstop advising me in large red letters to REMOVE KEY CARD FROM READER, totally unimpressed with the fact that no matter how much I yanked on it while pressing the button, it would not budge. Finally, one of the ladies from behind the desk pulled it out by first shoving it in a little farther, thus releasing whatever grip the demon inside had on it.

The students are back. I gave and received quite a few hugs in the department lobby. But I noted the absence of my friends who have graduated. This is the down side of being a university teacher.

I don’t have enough music for this recital. What would be sufficiently mad and despairing? Any suggestions?

|

<~~~ * ~~~>