Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Still distraught, a bit.

Thursday, Oct. 5, 2006
7:08 p.m.
I had to tell the facility curator (that’s a fancy name for the department secretary, a paid student position), who happens to be the keyboard player in my daughter’s band and was also my Latin buddy last year, that he should change my hours on the singing studio door. I am officially teaching 1.75 hours this term. One and three-quarters hours. That’s all. Apparently everyone knows about the first-year student who changed on me. The news that the second-year one had switched came as a bit of a shock to Ollie. Well, it came as a shock to me too. I thought I was over this, but I got upset all over again, seeing the schedule come out of the printer with my two measly hours on it. Feh!

Oh, the other thing that bothered me had to do with the child of our department chair, a one and-a-half year-old, who was wandering around in the office when I went in there to change the room schedule. Neither of his parents was around, and he appeared to be unsupervised. The student who was babysitting him before was in choir at that moment (I left early because they split up for sectionals, and I really don’t need to spend time learning music I already know) and one other student who was in the office when I went in there was carrying the boy because he had started to cry. But he had to go. It turned out that the other prof, the one who hardly talks to me anymore and with whom I used to be such good friends once upon a time, was supposed to be looking after the child.

Okay, I’ve complained about this before, especially when the kid was a baby and setting everyone’s teeth on edge with his crying when his parents would bring him to the office, but seriously, you don’t leave your kid unattended in a place that has a paper cutter, scissors, pens and pencils, and staplers. I guess I resent it because I stayed at home when my kids were little, or I hired babysitters. I think they just hope that some student will volunteer, and so far, most have. But this is just wrong.

In other news, I finally got the shopping done at Costco that got delayed because of the screw in my tire. I bought Hallowe’en candy, which my son says won’t last till then, and which I have told him has to, and I also bought a bag of jeIIy beIIies for our trip in the car this weekend. The fridge was seriously bare yesterday before I went to the local grocery store. Rarely do I let it get so empty. We were totally out of bread, down to our last milk bag. Mother Hubbard’s cupboard was bare.

So, about that long trip in the car, we’re driving to Ontario tomorrow for Thanksgiving. If I don’t get to update tomorrow before we leave, I’ll say bye now. Toodles!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>