Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Wringing wet

Sunday, Jul. 5, 2009
10:24 a.m.
Again with the long silences between updates. Whassamatta fa you, Elgan? I’ll tell what the matter is: For days and days it has been raining non-stop. The river is nearing the top of the banks, the little stream that runs by our house has become a rushing torrent, and everything feels damp. I do the crossword puzzle and the newspaper feels wet. Sitting downstairs watching a movie last night (S0uI Men, Bernie Mac’s last film), the carpet and the sofa felt damp. I’ve got to remember to get the dehumidifier working or we’ll end up with real mushrooms down there. Unfortunately, Buddy Boy has a friend who stays over quite a bit these days (he’s bunking at his aunt’s as he has nowhere else to go until he gets a new pad and needs a break from his aunt every so often) and Hubby is watching Wimbled0n, and the noise is deafening when the machine is running full tilt. So it’s not.

It’s supposed to be nice today. My widget forecasts a high of 18°C with sunshine (the picture of the sun has little whispy clouds floating in front of it), but at the moment of writing, it is overcast and 14°. I have laundry to do and I don’t want to use the dryer.

I had a nagging headache yesterday afternoon and finally lay down for a nap, thinking that would get rid of it. I woke when the grandfather clock struck six, still with the headache, and realized I hadn’t prepared anything for dinner. Buddy Boy and I convinced Hubby we should go to the Lion for our evening repast, and eventually we did (he had to finish scoring the last bit he was working on) and took advantage of their burger night. Buddy Boy had a bacon burger, Hubby had the veggie burger, and I had the beer-battered fish burger which I ended up eating with my fork and knife, eschewing the bun, as it fell apart when I bit into it. It was pleasant to get out, and at least it was dry in there.

Rain, rain, go away...



|

<~~~ * ~~~>