Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The river is wide, I cannot get o�er�

Monday, Apr. 4, 2005
9:41 p.m.
Coming back from choir practice tonight, I felt I absolutely must write about the river at this time of year. Until just a couple of days ago, it was covered with a thick sheet of ice. As the temperatures rose and the rain fell, the river rose too, forcing the ice to break up into huge chunks, which were then deposited along the banks. There is one section of a farmer�s field, caught between the highway and the river, which is totally covered with enormous slabs of ice. It is quite amazing. The river is up to within a metre of its bank, carrying along more ice as it heads for the St. Lawrence River 240 kilometres away.

The Volvo is still not working. Both Hubby and I tried to get it going today, with no luck. The motor turns over but doesn�t catch. We even had it plugged in, hoping that the warmth of the block heater would dry out the engine a bit. It is definitely time to send it on its merry way and purchase a new vehicle. I shall be sad to see it go. Well, maybe not all that sad. It doesn�t have air conditioning for one thing, and we did make an awful lot of trips during the summer with all the windows open, dying of the heat. No, I guess I won�t be all that sad to say goodbye. But I hope we get a new vehicle soon. The logistics of coordinating all the various activities with only one car available is mind boggling.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>