Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

One down, seven to go.

Monday, Apr. 4, 2005
9:59 a.m.
I don�t know when I got into the habit of updating in the morning about the previous day�s events, but I don�t see myself getting out of it soon. Therefore, let me regale you with tales of gallantry, heroic deeds, and mundane maunderings for the next couple of minutes.

Yesterday was Sunday. I spent most of the day with a feeling of having had duct tape applied around my forehead. As a matter of fact, I still have that sensation, but to a lesser degree. I taught my tenor at 1:00 p.m. as scheduled. I played way too many games of Freecell on the office computer. Then I went to the Gal�rie Quatre Sais0ns and bought myself a new pair of blue jeans specifically for the choir concerts this upcoming weekend. Concert dress is jeans and a solid-coloured top. My old jeans are a little baggy around the derriere, considering I was a size larger when I bought them, and I wanted something that made me look a little sexier, although a 48-year-old woman on a stage full of 20-somethings doesn�t have a snowball�s chance in hell. The pants I ended up buying sit just below the natural waist, have lycra in them (three cheers for stretchiness!) and are not too unflattering. They were also on sale (three cheers for spring sales!), a cool $29 marked down from a mean $50. I will, however, have to cut about six inches off the bottom. Ha ha! I also bought some sparkly eyeliner.

Then I went grocery shopping, forgetting to buy bananas because I also forgot to bring the list with me. I managed a nap after I got home, made supper, and then headed out again for my student�s grad recital. She had a few dicey moments (more than a few and more than just dicey) in Schubert�s St�ndchen, even with the music in front of her, which obviously caused her much distress. Vlad covered for her as best she could, but to those of us who know the piece, as well as the jurors in the balcony who had the score in front of them, it was painfully obvious. The second half went much better, especially her Mozart concert aria, Voi avete un cor fedele, which was brilliant in places. Just before her encore, for which her dad accompanied her, she gave roses to me her singing teacher, Vlad her accompanist, and even her page turner (who got a single red rose), and thanked us all publicly. I was rather touched.

The reception afterwards was amazing, all prepared by her parents. I wish our normal concert series spreads were that lavish. Little Princess� band had been practising in the bowels of the building during the recital itself, and, along with all the other students present, descended upon the food like a pack of starving animals. There was plenty for everyone.

I have some pictures from our trip, but unfortunately haven�t deposited them to photobucket yet. I will, I promise!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>